Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hello from Wales

Hello from Wales

Hi all. I recently bought a white 1988 mk1 mr2 as a project to fill the time between tours (I work as a roadie).
    I owned a 1991 celica gt4 for a while, and loved it to bits. But, money problems meant I had to get rid and downgrade to a vw polo. I eventually got sick of understeer and decided to buy a cheap mr2 project.
    So, off to Birmingham. The seller though it had a headgasket failure as it was using water. But there were no other obvious signs pointing to the HG so I took the risk and bought it. Apart from afew spots of rust and a blowing exhaust it seemed pretty tidy.

Anyway, after getting it home and having a gander, it turns out the thermostat had been removed from the housing. A replacement will be going in tomorrow.

Anyway, just thought I'd say hello as I've already learnt alot from this forum.

Cheers all!
    Ben
    (I'll lob some pictures up soon.)

Re: Hello from Wales

Hi Ben

welcome to the club

from a gt4 you'll love the mr2 mk1 the power to weight in nice in a mk1 i think.
    I hope the engine hasn't suffered from the overheating problems or whatever it was....

my hubby used to be a sound engineer on tours years ago, and got into mr2's the same as you

Thanks very much

Yeah I cant wait to have a proper drive round the welsh twisties! The gt4 was very very good, but quite heavy.

Been tidying up some bits and bobs. I replaced the stat the other day, which is good. But just as I was getting the car up to temperature to finish the refill the alternator seized and snapped the belt. Hoorah!

So i've got a new belt and cambelt kit to go on at the weekend. All I need now is another alternator. Anyone know where's a good place to look? Or if anyone's got a spare one knocking about I'll happily take it off your hands.

Quote Originally Posted by mr2mk1chick
    my hubby used to be a sound engineer on tours years ago, and got into mr2's the same as you