PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Wales

chief44
20th February 2011, 06:28 PM
Hi all. I recently bought a white 1988 mk1 mr2 as a project to fill the time between tours (I work as a roadie).
I owned a 1991 celica gt4 for a while, and loved it to bits. But, money problems meant I had to get rid and downgrade to a vw polo. I eventually got sick of understeer and decided to buy a cheap mr2 project.
So, off to Birmingham. The seller though it had a headgasket failure as it was using water. But there were no other obvious signs pointing to the HG so I took the risk and bought it. Apart from afew spots of rust and a blowing exhaust it seemed pretty tidy.

Anyway, after getting it home and having a gander, it turns out the thermostat had been removed from the housing. A replacement will be going in tomorrow.

Anyway, just thought I'd say hello as I've already learnt alot from this forum.

Cheers all!
Ben
(I'll lob some pictures up soon.)

mr2mk1chick
24th February 2011, 12:15 PM
Hi Ben

welcome to the club :wave:

from a gt4 you'll love the mr2 mk1 :+: the power to weight in nice in a mk1 i think.
I hope the engine hasn't suffered from the overheating problems or whatever it was....

my hubby used to be a sound engineer on tours years ago, and got into mr2's the same as you

chief44
24th February 2011, 07:40 PM
Thanks very much :D

Yeah I cant wait to have a proper drive round the welsh twisties! The gt4 was very very good, but quite heavy.

Been tidying up some bits and bobs. I replaced the stat the other day, which is good. But just as I was getting the car up to temperature to finish the refill the alternator seized and snapped the belt. Hoorah!

So i've got a new belt and cambelt kit to go on at the weekend. All I need now is another alternator. Anyone know where's a good place to look? Or if anyone's got a spare one knocking about I'll happily take it off your hands.

my hubby used to be a sound engineer on tours years ago, and got into mr2's the same as you