PDA

View Full Version : Hello

mishy99
13th February 2011, 04:08 AM
Hi MR2 mk1 owners and forum users,

I am a 19 year old automotive engineering student at sussex university and avid fan of MR2 MK1s. was around a lot of them as a child and i think it had an effect on me ;)

i don't currently own an MR2 mk1 but intend to purchase one in the near future. wont be a perfect one as thats part of the fun for someone like me. Currently drive a saxo :oops: and have recently become very bored of it. Does anyone think i could get insured on one for a reasonable price (less than £2000), i have 2 years NCB and a clean licence in a relatively decent post code with low yearly mileage of about 3000.
i am willing to wait if i have to but it would be a good time financially for me if i could get one. i know being a student will go against me, even though being an engineering student i don't have a lot of fun spare time :lol:

I have looked through many threads on this forum and must say many of you guys really know your stuff and have some fantastic looking cars. keep it up :+:

Michael

superwhite90
14th February 2011, 12:59 PM
Hello Michael,

I know I struggled with various insurance companies when I first bought my MR2 when I was 20. I found that quite a few companies needed you to be 21 in order to take out a policy.

I think from memory my first policy cost me about £1100 and that was third party fire and theft with 2 years NCB and a clean licence at the time too. The mileage you intend to cover may help bring your quotation down but someone else can answer this as many people have limited mileage policies here.

The men and women on this site are brilliant and always willing to share their expertise and knowledge whenever its needed :+:

These cars however are a different kettle of fish compared to a saxo but are indeed a lot of fun :D

tommundy
14th February 2011, 01:47 PM
Hi Michael,