PDA

View Full Version : Possible newbie

Simcard
9th February 2014, 10:19 AM
I'll keep this to the point for now, looking at getting an MR2 as a project, a bit of summer fun perhaps, and i love the look of the MK1's. Got wind of one up for sale North of Whitby so i went for a viewing yesterday. The asking price is £400. However...
It has been stood since 2005. I'm a mechanic by trade with my own garage so i'm not put off by a bit of welding and such like. However on this car i was having a good poke at all the arches, strut tops, sills ect when suddenly i felt what can only be described as a crator. I found said crator (same both sides) underneath the front arches on what i had believed to be the floor pan. I must say now that it was sitting on shonky mdf with 4 flat tyres and about 2 inches from the ground in the poring rain in faded light so there was no way i could really inspect it. But the surprising bit here is when i lifted both carpets under the drivers and passengers footwells, there were no holes. So my question is, what was it exactly that i had discovered and if you're familiar with it, can it be patched? The holes were probably about 2 fist sizes so fairly bif to say the least. The surrounding metal was very flakey. Do you have any pictures of what i found? I will be a MK1 owner in the near future so feel free to point out any others of interest in the ' needs TLC' category.

Thanks for reading.

tommundy
9th February 2014, 10:36 AM
Hi there,

Welcome to the forums! :) (I'm from Beverley, so not too far down the coast from you!)

I can't tell without seeing the car, but what you're describing might be the box section where the front anti-roll bar mounts. Unfortunately, this is quite a terminal area if it has gone.

There are plenty more Mk1's out there if you decide that this one isn't for you and there's a wealth of knowledge on the forums.

Good luck in your hunt for a Mk1. They're cracking fun and great value at the moment!

Cheers,
Tom

Sweetpea