PDA

View Full Version : Hi All

Joe
9th July 2013, 11:13 AM
Joe here, I'm a complete MR2 novice, and in fact I'm currently pretty worthless at working on cars full stop, but I'm hoping to learn. I shall within a week be in possession of what I think is an '87 mk1b, but I'm not entirely sure. If anyone's interested I can post the pictures that were on the advert but until I get it at the weekend I won't be able to take any.

It'll be my first car, and at the tender age of 21 insurance has is so far proving to be a bit of a problem, if anyone has any tricks to get it down I'd greatly appreciate it.

I look forward to slowly syphoning off your collective knowledge so that I may one day impart it myself, I'm open to any information, hints, tips or tricks that any of you can offer me. I doubt there is anything so basic that I don't need to know!

superwhite90
9th July 2013, 11:19 AM
Hi Joe and welcome to the Mr2Mk1Club!

See if you can put your mum or dad under your policy as named drivers as this is what I did up until a few years ago. I was 21-22 when I owned my first mk1 and it cost around £1100 to insure. If you go on the comparison websites be sure to phone the actual brokers up before you take out the policy as I was shafted a few years ago when all my modifications were not listed.

Alternatively if you don't use it for an every day vehicle, i.e. only at weekends, much lower mileage will get you a cheaper quote. I intend on using mine when it's rebuilt for about 1500-2000 miles and have been quoted £163 - I am 28 but that's with NO NCB on the policy so anything is possible.

Joe
9th July 2013, 11:27 AM
Thank you kindly.