PDA

View Full Version : New Member With Mk1a in Boston, Lincolnshire

BostonMK1
7th May 2013, 09:13 AM
So i purchased my very first MR2 recently as a bit of fun for the summer. I had admired the car every time that i saw it. The car which sat on the drive next to my girlfriends house in Peterborough.

I am totally new to world of Toyota's but not new to the world of classics. I come from a Triumph background but was getting bored with unreliable vehicles that turned out to be money pits.

Anyway im hoping that some hardcore enthusiasts can tell me more about my car. All i know so far is that it was registered on the 16th of May 1985 and is the 8b8 sky blue metalic paintwork model. Oooh and that it doesnt have oem wheels :(

Any information will greatly appreciated.

Hope to be here for a while!

Jon

https://www.facebook.com/jpcoupland?ref=tn_tnmn#!/media/set/?set=a.10151576434785380.1073741825.750840379&type=1

PeteP
7th May 2013, 09:19 AM
Hiya Jon. It's nice to have somebody else here that doesn't know these cars inside out, though I suspect you have far more car skills than myself. There is a ton of knowledge on these forums and always somebody to help. There are a couple of people who are particularly clued up and always willing to share their knowledge.

What sort of condition is your toy in? Have you done many miles in it? Are you smitten yet?

BostonMK1
7th May 2013, 09:23 AM
Nice to meet you Pete. My car skills are not amazing but i can find my way around a workshop :)

Am totally smitten yes and it is in very good condition for its age! Had a full rebuild back in 1999 with all new body panels and respray. Was a very lucky find. As for miles in it ... well i am still preparing it for its MOT but hope to have it on the road in a fortnight.

Yourself?

PeteP
7th May 2013, 10:00 AM
Fancy buying an old car with no MoT. :o Yeah, me too! :oops: